LOCO NOT RUNNING - Page 2 - Model Train Forum - the complete model train resource
Model Train Forum - the complete model train resource

Go Back   Model Train Forum - the complete model train resource > Model Train Workshop > Beginner Q & A
Forgotten your password?

Beginner Q & A If you're new to model trains, stop in here!


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-03-2019, 05:50 AM   #11
MichaelE
Dispatcher
 
MichaelE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 2,059
Scales Modeled: HO
The decoder card is what makes the locomotive operate with DCC. When you remove the shell you should see a small circuit board mounted on top of the locomotive chassis.

Make sure nothing is hanging from the underside of the shell to make contact with the card, and that the card is pushed firmly onto the connector.

If it uses a harness and plug, make sure the plug is seated on the connector.

I don't think this has anything to do with the shorted condition, but make sure you have cancelled the consist with this locomotive if running as a single unit.
__________________
Deutsche-Bahn Eisenbahn modeling Upper Bayern, western Austria, and northern Switzerland.
MichaelE is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-04-2019, 07:08 PM   #12
spikedrivingblues
Brakeman
 
spikedrivingblues's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 133
Quote:
Originally Posted by MichaelE View Post
The decoder card is what makes the locomotive operate with DCC.
Thanks. I will check all that before sending it back. Maybe I'll get lucky!

So when you say "decoder card", is that what I just call the decoder?

Thanks for the help!
spikedrivingblues is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2019, 08:03 PM   #13
spikedrivingblues
Brakeman
 
spikedrivingblues's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 133
Just took the shell off again and had a look. I didn't see or feel anything that appeared to be touching the decoder or that seemed loose. Of course, I don't really know what i should be looking for either

Beats me! I will probably have to send it back for repair. BLI told me it could be 11 weeks (wonder if this means they have a lot of engines coming back). I will let everyone know when it comes back and what they did to it.

Thanks again
spikedrivingblues is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


» Visit These Sites:
LGB World

Or Our European Train Website ModelRailForum




All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:00 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.