Train Detection - Model Train Forum - the complete model train resource
Model Train Forum - the complete model train resource

Go Back   Model Train Forum - the complete model train resource > Model Train Workshop > Technical Model Train Forum
Forgotten your password?

Technical Model Train Forum Discussion on advanced technical aspects.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-09-2019, 01:40 AM   #1
TUAC
Hobo
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Location: Miami Gardens, FL
Posts: 6
Scales Modeled: HO scale
Train Detection

Hi
My name is Mike. I am new to the forum and to model railroading. I am retired from the railroad, where I worked in the Train Control department. I am having a problem detecting my locomotives. I have laid down my track with power. I also have sixteen (16) insulated joints on the “A” rail for detection that is wired from each block to the BDL168. I am using a breakout board to eliminate soldering wires to a 44 pin card edge connector. The power from the command station is coming into the BDL168 and going out to the (A) track. The common Ground on the breakout board is connected (wired) to the command station ground.

I am trying to get my Digitrax BDL168 to detect my locomotive. I have no indication light from the tester at all.
I am getting the seven plus voltage (7+v) coming out of the board, but the power indication light is dark. The light on the BDL168 is blinking green and I have a sixteen volts (16v) power supply connected to the BDL168 board. I need help.

Also my command center is a NCE Power Pro and I am using the Digitrax BDL168 as a stand-alone. The loconet is connected from the BDL168 to the computer using a Digitrax PR4. When I opened up JMRI and navigate to “Loconet”, then down to “Configure BDL168”, I can see the OpSw options, but when I try to read or write to sheet I get the message “Aborted – no response from the device after several tries”
TUAC is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-09-2019, 09:09 AM   #2
gunrunnerjohn
Admin
 
gunrunnerjohn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: SE-PA, USA
Posts: 42,855
Scales Modeled: O-gauge 3-rail
Images: 3
You got trapped in moderation, I set you free.
__________________
MTH ASC Certified Tech, Factory Authorized Lionel Service, ERR Dealer
gunrunnerjohn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2019, 01:13 PM   #3
D&J Railroad
Station Master
 
D&J Railroad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: King George, VA
Posts: 2,735
Scales Modeled: HO only and some G scale stuff for display
Sometimes the Digitrax boards don't work as advertised. I had an SE8C board for my signal control. It worked fine for everything except when I tried to change my signal system for the signal heads to go dark when no trains were present, the board wouldn't do that. I messed with it for a few weeks before figuring that one out. Got a new board and it did what I wanted it to right out of the box.
The BDL168 should detect a train right out of the box as you have it connected. I would check with Digitrax.
__________________
Ken
Chief Operator and creator of the D&J Railroad
D&J Railroad is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Old 02-10-2020, 03:44 PM   #4
TUAC
Hobo
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Location: Miami Gardens, FL
Posts: 6
Scales Modeled: HO scale
I sent my BDL 168 back to Diditrax and the board was repaired. It took three months, because of hurricane damage to their warehouse. Now the LT5 tester is showing detection on all four(4) lights. What am I doing wrong?
TUAC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2020, 04:22 PM   #5
DonR
Train Master
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jacksonville, Fl
Posts: 8,308
That sure seems to be a very complex device.
Way above my pay grade.

I assume you have seen this video and read
the manual.


Don
DonR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2020, 04:33 PM   #6
D&J Railroad
Station Master
 
D&J Railroad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: King George, VA
Posts: 2,735
Scales Modeled: HO only and some G scale stuff for display
You said you were providing 16V to the board? I think that might be over voltage and will cause some problems. Do you have a PS14 or any kind of wall wart that puts out 12 volts DC or less?
__________________
Ken
Chief Operator and creator of the D&J Railroad
D&J Railroad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2020, 07:09 PM   #7
TUAC
Hobo
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Location: Miami Gardens, FL
Posts: 6
Scales Modeled: HO scale
To test the board and proper wiring, I isolated a track and jumper it to the BDL-168 and I got the red power indication light and one red occupancy light from the LT5 tester when I put a locomotive on the track, which let me know that the board is powered, wired and working properly.

On my layout I use Bachmann EZ Decoder-Equipped Turnouts. Is there a problem using these turnouts with train detection? My layouts work well with the turnouts, even using JMRI, but the LT5-tester show occupancy for all four sections of isolated track.
TUAC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2020, 02:56 PM   #8
DonR
Train Master
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jacksonville, Fl
Posts: 8,308
Could your detectors be 'seeing' the EZ turnout decoders?
They would draw about the same current as an idle
loco decoder. Is it possible to 'feed' the EZ's off
of a bus that is not a part of your detector system?

Don
DonR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2020, 08:53 AM   #9
TUAC
Hobo
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Location: Miami Gardens, FL
Posts: 6
Scales Modeled: HO scale
If I wire the switches separately, will I lose detection in the crossovers?

PS: Ken, I am using a wall wart that is putting out 13.8v; the manual says the power supply should be between 12-16 volts.
TUAC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2020, 12:52 PM   #10
DonR
Train Master
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jacksonville, Fl
Posts: 8,308
Your turnout stationary decoders should take the
power from your track bus direct from your DCC
controller. The rails on the turnout should take
the power from connected tracks and should therefore
continue to be in your detector blocks.

Don
DonR is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


» Visit These Sites:
LGB World

Or Our European Train Website ModelRailForum




All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:25 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.