Granite Gorge & Northern - Page 22 - Model Train Forum - the complete model train resource
Model Train Forum - the complete model train resource

Go Back   Model Train Forum - the complete model train resource > Scale Specific Model Train Forum > HO Scale
Forgotten your password?

HO Scale Discussion of HO scale model trains.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-28-2013, 05:20 PM   #211
JerryH
Engineer
 
JerryH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Posts: 976
Scales Modeled: HO
Images: 31
I don't know what I am doing either!! I did run a simulation and the train stopped automatically before running through a set wrong turnout. So I might have something right.
JerryH is online now   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-29-2013, 09:17 PM   #212
JerryH
Engineer
 
JerryH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Posts: 976
Scales Modeled: HO
Images: 31
GG&N automation

Well another piece of the puzzle figured out I actually got a 4 aspect signal head to work the way I wanted! Amazing It shows red if the points are wrong or if the next block is occupied. It goes flashing yellow if the second block is occupied and yellow if the 3rd block out is occupied. Green if the points are right and the next 3 blocks are clear. Of course this is still in simulation on my main PC. As the switch is run or the train passes through the blocks, the signals automatically change according to those rules. Once I get most of it setup, I will install it on the layout PC. There is alot more to learn and set up yet. This will be so cool if it works on the layout.
JerryH is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2013, 01:53 PM   #213
JerryH
Engineer
 
JerryH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Posts: 976
Scales Modeled: HO
Images: 31
Well I can't tell the difference between a "trigger" and a "condition" in setting up the signals. It appears either will do what I want. A little clarification would be nice.
JerryH is online now   Reply With Quote
 
Old 09-30-2013, 02:25 PM   #214
DonR
Train Master
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jacksonville, Fl
Posts: 8,051
What are you using for train detection in your blocks? That has always been
the major expensive stumbling block to automatic block and crossing signals.
I know there are current draw, laser, photoelectric and possibly more.

Or are you using the computer program to change the signal
aspects?

Don
DonR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2013, 02:46 PM   #215
JerryH
Engineer
 
JerryH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Posts: 976
Scales Modeled: HO
Images: 31
I have a Digitrax system. There are BDL168s for block detection and SE8Cs for turnout control and signal drivers. A PR3 is the Loconet interface with a computer. JMRI can communicate with the layout. All of the functions work with the throttles. Now I am exploring TrainController to run everything from the computer. I have it installed on another computer and am trying to set it all up before I put it on the layout. I am testing it in simulation mode on my main PC first. The 400 page manual is lacking in many ways.
JerryH is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2013, 03:54 PM   #216
05Slowbalt
Conductor
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Andover, NY
Posts: 318
Scales Modeled: HO
So listen Jerry if you make this work how about I fly you out to my neck of the woods and you can teach me how JMRI and everything works. LOL More power to you for trying this. I look for word to seeing more. When you do get it running how you want maybe a video for us that would love to see it work?
__________________
Enjoy your trains. Life is to short not too!
05Slowbalt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2013, 04:09 PM   #217
JerryH
Engineer
 
JerryH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Posts: 976
Scales Modeled: HO
Images: 31
I looked at JMRI for automation and I didn't like it. I like TrainContoller better. It isn't great but at least I can make it function. It is learning challenged! I am a ways off I think from a test run of any sort. I will make a video when I have something to show.
JerryH is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2013, 08:12 PM   #218
norgale
Yard Master
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Bonita Springs,Fl.
Posts: 6,021
Scales Modeled: ho
What's a JMRI? Pete
norgale is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2013, 09:44 PM   #219
JerryH
Engineer
 
JerryH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Posts: 976
Scales Modeled: HO
Images: 31
http://jmri.sourceforge.net/
JerryH is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2013, 11:41 PM   #220
JerryH
Engineer
 
JerryH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Posts: 976
Scales Modeled: HO
Images: 31
GG&N automation

Well the problems are starting to mount up due to a lack of detail in the manual for TCG. In the simulation, the length of the train is not spanning the blocks properly. Even though the block and train lengths are defined. Anyone used this stuff out there?
JerryH is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Tags
(tc) , automation , traincontroller


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 2 (1 members and 1 guests)
JerryH
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


» Visit These Sites:
LGB World

Or Our European Train Website ModelRailForum




All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:43 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.