Flex track radius - Model Train Forum - the complete model train resource
Model Train Forum - the complete model train resource

Go Back   Model Train Forum - the complete model train resource > Model Train Workshop > Layout Design Forum
Forgotten your password?

Layout Design Forum Discussion resource for planning your dream layout, large, small or micro!

 

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-04-2019, 04:08 PM   #1
tommy24a
Brakeman
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Allentown PA
Posts: 127
Flex track radius

How do I go about knowing the radius of my flex track 3ft ho scale as I am putting down my track? Am I making sense?
Thanks!

Sent from my LGL84VL using Tapatalk
tommy24a is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-04-2019, 04:26 PM   #2
Dennis461
Engineer
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Atco, NJ....near the race track
Posts: 971
Scales Modeled: HO
Images: 11
normally (for me) draw lines first using a home made 'compass".
Or use a piece of sectional track to draw outlines.

Cut a pizza box to the radius you want, use it as a template.
__________________
Electrical Engineer: Retired
Former SEPTA Regional Rail Division electrician
Dennis461 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2019, 04:44 PM   #3
tommy24a
Brakeman
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Allentown PA
Posts: 127
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dennis461 View Post
normally (for me) draw lines first using a home made 'compass".
Or use a piece of sectional track to draw outlines.

Cut a pizza box to the radius you want, use it as a template.
We have a track plan on paper so we are going by that generally..but its all flex track...want to make sure we are not making to sharp of a radius. How do we go about knowing the radius?

Sent from my LGL84VL using Tapatalk
tommy24a is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Old 11-04-2019, 06:17 PM   #4
CTValleyRR
Train Master
 
CTValleyRR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: East Haddam, CT
Posts: 8,792
Scales Modeled: HO
Quote:
Originally Posted by tommy24a View Post
We have a track plan on paper so we are going by that generally..but its all flex track...want to make sure we are not making to sharp of a radius. How do we go about knowing the radius?

Sent from my LGL84VL using Tapatalk
Are you saying that your track plan doesn't give you the radius?

Dennis gave you several ways to mark that radius on your layout surface so that you have a guide to follow as you lay the track.

There are also commercial radius templates available from half a dozen companies, in metal, plastic, or wood.
__________________
Connecticut Valley Railroad -- A Branch of the New York, New Haven, And Hartford

"We don't stop playing because we grow old. We grow old because we stop playing." --George Bernard Shaw
CTValleyRR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2019, 06:47 PM   #5
Dennis461
Engineer
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Atco, NJ....near the race track
Posts: 971
Scales Modeled: HO
Images: 11
draw it on paper to scale. Grammar school graph paper, for example 1 square equals 2".

Put dimensions for edges of table, post it here.
We can give you a rough idea.

For example, a circle fitting in a 40" square layout will be around 18" radius.
__________________
Electrical Engineer: Retired
Former SEPTA Regional Rail Division electrician
Dennis461 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2019, 07:39 PM   #6
tommy24a
Brakeman
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Allentown PA
Posts: 127
The plan that we are working from is on grid paper. 1ft squares pic below

Sent from my LGL84VL using Tapatalk
tommy24a is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2019, 08:45 PM   #7
MichaelE
Dispatcher
 
MichaelE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 2,368
Scales Modeled: HO
When you laid this out on grid paper did you measure with a divider or compass on a ruler before drawing the curve?

How big are the squares? Are they a half inch, three quarters of an inch, one inch?
__________________
Deutsche-Bahn Eisenbahn modeling Upper Bayern, western Austria, and northern Switzerland.
MichaelE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2019, 08:50 PM   #8
Dennis461
Engineer
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Atco, NJ....near the race track
Posts: 971
Scales Modeled: HO
Images: 11
So, it is 13' wide 22' long.
Curves seem to be 24" radius. No problem using flex track.
__________________
Electrical Engineer: Retired
Former SEPTA Regional Rail Division electrician
Dennis461 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2019, 10:02 PM   #9
tommy24a
Brakeman
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Allentown PA
Posts: 127
I think u are correct..found some note from my buddy who did the track plan using software an it states 24" radius. Should of dug deeper in my notes!

Sent from my LGL84VL using Tapatalk
tommy24a is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2019, 07:44 AM   #10
wvgca
Station Master
 
wvgca's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: yorkton, sask
Posts: 3,283
Scales Modeled: HO 1890's
Images: 48
Radius is measured to the center of the track, [usually where the holes are] ,not inside or outside, just a fyi
__________________

wvgca is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


» Visit These Sites:
LGB World

Or Our European Train Website ModelRailForum




All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:13 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.