Model Train Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
25 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
A local train shop said he could convert the tablet smoker to liquid but wanted nearly $100 to do it. I’m new to the hobby but that sounds high to me!
I did a little research and what I’ve read, they say I can use a liquid smoke in the my 2065 engine but it will not hold much.
Suggestions, advice please !
Jim C

·
Registered
2,471 Posts
The amount of fluid it holds will not change in a conversion as the heating element is the only thing that changes. I tend to recommend NOT converting a postwar smoke unit as the original heating elements are much more robust and can be used with fluid with great results. Put 10 drop or so in and then top off as necessary when smoke output diminishes.

With the conversion resistors, you need to always keep the unit full of fluid whereas the postwar units can be run dry without much of an issue.

·
Registered
5,736 Posts
A local train shop said he could convert the tablet smoker to liquid but wanted nearly $100 to do it. I’m new to the hobby but that sounds high to me!
I did a little research and what I’ve read, they say I can use a liquid smoke in the my 2065 engine but it will not hold much.
Suggestions, advice please !
Jim C
At $100 bucks he's ripping you off, royally!!!:smilie_daumenneg:

·
Registered
74 Posts
I use liquid smoke in my 'all original' 2055. IMHO it works better than the 'pills'. So yes I would not change unless there is something wrong with your unit.

·
Registered
25 Posts
Discussion Starter #5