Model Train Forum banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi. I am new to the Marx train world, but am hooked. It all started when I found a 999 set under my parent's basement stairs. From there, I've picked up some track, accessories, a 666 side chest smoker, and a 333 smoker. The 666 works great and smokes like crazy, but the 333 does not smoke.
--
Forgive me if I use the wrong terminology.
--
The bellows is grey with a red lever/flapper. I think it is working, but am not sure. I put a piece of tissue paper near it and it seems to be puffing. Is there any other way to tell?
--
The inner stack "red glow" plastic piece completely disintegrated (fell apart in my hands). Do you know if Robert Grossman, carries this part (is it part #35?).
--
Does anyone know if the heating element is a his part #202?
--
Also, is there supposed to be some other part or parts between or on top of the red inner stack piece or any other piece related to the stack (I know of the bellows, the red plastic piece and the heating element) - anything else?
--
Finally, I am unsure, but how does the air from the bellows get in to the red inner stack piece? While mine fell apart, before it did, I could not see a hole for the air to pass through from the bellows.
--
Thanks so much in advance for your help.
:)

·
Railroad Tycoon
23,304 Posts
Hi. I am new to the Marx train world, but am hooked. It all started when I found a 999 set under my parent's basement stairs. From there, I've picked up some track, accessories, a 666 side chest smoker, and a 333 smoker. The 666 works great and smokes like crazy, but the 333 does not smoke.
--
Forgive me if I use the wrong terminology.
--
The bellows is grey with a red lever/flapper. I think it is working, but am not sure. I put a piece of tissue paper near it and it seems to be puffing. Is there any other way to tell?
--