Model Train Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
114 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
When switching from DC to DCC did you find your locomotives run more reliably without stalling over dirty track, rough spots, etc.?

Sorry for the basic question, I have no experience with DCC. My guess is that having full voltage to the track is an advantage re stalling.

Or is reliability more related to having a 'keep alive' on board?

·
Registered
1,911 Posts
No. The wisdom is that if an engine runs poorly in DC, it will be no better, and probably somewhat/a lot worse in DCC. DCC has to send digital signals concurrently with the AC full-voltage-all-the-time current applied to the rails, so it needs a robust voltage, clean track, clean wheels, well-designed and maintained pickups on axles or rubbing against the back of wheels....that sort of thing. If your service is intermittent in DC, it will probably be terrible in DCC.

Yes, a keep-alive is really an elegant, if daunting, solution...for those who have never installed one. I think the modern decoders are coming with caps, at long last. Maybe 10 years ago would have been nice.

·
Registered
9,897 Posts
When switching from DC to DCC did you find your locomotives run more reliably without stalling over dirty track, rough spots, etc.?

Sorry for the basic question, I have no experience with DCC. My guess is that having full voltage to the track is an advantage re stalling.

Or is reliability more related to having a 'keep alive' on board?
Well, you're right: full voltage to the track all the time is certainly an advantage... UNLESS it can't get to the wheels or motor of your loco. Then it does you no good at all. Dirty track is the main cause of this, although dirty locomotive wheels don't help either.