Model Train Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
57 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am a newbie, learning a lot of new skills. I thought I would take a crack a compiling a list of "Best Practices" for model railroading. I was hoping fellow modelers could help flesh it out. What do you all think? :)

Attachments

·
Registered
4,510 Posts
-----
Yes but, this is a new and improved "presentation" to avoid misunderstanding. :)
...and confusion! :eek:

Keep in mind, these "best practices" are opinions, not always proven facts

·
Registered
57 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
...and confusion! :eek:

Keep in mind, these "best practices" are opinions, not always proven facts
------
Yes, I agree. I realize that there are usually several different practices for each aspect of modeling. It also seems to me that some practices are preferred by most contemporary modelers (like us) e.g. modelers who are capable of participating in a forum on the Web! :) I would LOVE to see a consensus of modeler opinions on practices (or methods) for each aspect of modeling. I would like to learn from their experience. I will then spread the good word. :)

·
Registered
57 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
So what's new and improved about it?
---
To be more clear, I present it here as a list that I am just starting and would like suggestions for (to help me flesh out) as opposed to a list that resulted from research that I did and asking for review & comment from fellow modelers.

·
Registered
1,244 Posts
IF YOU BUILD IT, THEY WILL COME

I think this is a good idea.
And like many good ideas, other people will have opinions.

I do not know tbarber1027, he may be 16 years old or 61.
If young, this will be a learning experience which may be useful in his/her career path in life. Us older gents know that good ides often get changed around by upper management :(

My first thought, an excel spreadsheet may be good for the raw data, but HTML or other WEB friendly coding will make the idea easier to sell.