Model Train Forum banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello.

I'm new to the model train scene. Actually I'm not even there yet. I'm interested in getting into the hobby.

I have been doing some research and I wanted to come here for advice.

I am interested in the steam era in the 1800's specifically. I want to replicate a geographical area near where I live and I did some historical research on my area to get an idea of what I want.

I live on the border of NY and Canada and I know a bridge still in use today was one of the first suspension bridges around, plus my wife is Canadian, so I think it'd be neat to make a pseudo-historical scene of the mid 1800's in this area (Niagara).

I figure I'd need two bridges, a large piece of foam to act as my sub terrain? layer, then to represent the river, I'd cut straight down and split the foam in half, more of less, and that can be the water, etc. and I'd have rocky cliffs on the sides and most of the foam top level would be grass and trees, etc.

I would ultimately at the ends of the table want these to wrap around and connect.

I don't know what brand I should get for the trains and tracks. I've been focusing on Bachmann and KATO. I don't want to totally break the bank so I'd start small and build up piece by piece. I've considered getting a set, but I think that could be a waste of money since I may not want that track and most of the cars on it. So I figured I can start with a steam engine first, and work my way up.

I don't have a tremendous amount of space but I have to calculate what I'm going to have (after that space of the basement is cleared out).