Model Train Forum banner

1 - 20 of 43 Posts

·
Registered
90 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have posted two photos. I would like to change the couplers on these cars which were manufactured by American Models around 1990. The quality is not very good. I compared it to the quality of the AM Budd cars that I own which is really well made.

I contacted the owner of American Models and he was not at all helpful. When I criticized him for the couplers, his only response was "I have been making these couplers for twenty-five years and no complaints." Thank you sir for helping me to simply want to replace couplers and upgrade my equipment. So much for American Models customer support.

Do you see any possible way to upgrade to Kadee's?

Thanks.

Attachments

·
Registered
6,038 Posts
That's a loooong extension on that coupler bar....What I would do is to cut off the coupler, leaving some room to transplant a piece of AF coupler arm to it...JB Weld, screw or pop-rivet it to the AM arm.. Just be sure the coupler/truck swings freely, and the coupler height is correct..

·
Registered
6,038 Posts
After re-reading your post about switching to Kadee's, I can offer nothing more. Maybe what I posted can help in some way.....

·
Registered
90 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
After re-reading your post about switching to Kadee's, I can offer nothing more. Maybe what I posted can help in some way.....
Thanks for your suggestions. I own a number of AM freight cars; a set of their Budd cars and a number of locomotives. All perform well. These couplers are "junk", I don't care how much this guy wants to defend his product. As I said, he was zero help and more interested in defending than helping out a former customer.

·
Registered
3,205 Posts