Model Train Forum banner

1 - 20 of 39 Posts

·
Registered
67 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi folks, I am new to the hobby and I am currently planning a shelf/ceiling O scale layout that will travel through 3 bedrooms and a closet. I was thinking about unique ideas for this, and was wondering if the following idea can be wired up and how one would do it:

Basically, can you create a bypass section using a couple Y switches where one side is powered and the other insulated until the switch is thrown? And if so, can one of those "infrared activation units" be used to activate the switches? So then you could have one train drive onto one side, and when it reaches a certain point it would activate the switches and switch power to the other side? Thus, you would have 2 different trains running the layout alternately without user input.

I thought it would be neat to have the train enter the closet section, and then a different train comes out the other side.

Please let me know if something like this is possible or not. Like I said, I am new to the hobby and just brainstorming right now.

Thanks!
Rob

·
Registered
67 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
welcome!

i don't see why not. 100% possible
Thanks for the response! So, next questions then :

- How would you insulate the one section of track when the switch is thrown to the other side?

- Is there any harm in killing power or applying power abruptly on these engines? Will it just get a litte bit of wheel spin or is it bad for the engine? Because switching power from one side to the other would then start the engine up at like 1/2 power or whatever we have it set at.

Thanks,
Rob

·
Registered
2,951 Posts
there is such thing as insulated rail joiners. they are plastic and as the name implies any 2 sections connected with these will not share power.

perhaps not to bad but i don't like "abruptness" you speak off. if i ever to do layout automation i would build something like this:
http://home.cogeco.ca/~rpaisley4/AutoStop.html