Model Train Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
hello everyone ill start by saying im very new to building model trains and i havent yet started building but i just built a new home so my basement is big and empty and i plan on building at least a 4x8 with shelves going down a couple walls so i have room and im going to use ho scale. I have done a lil reading about different aspects of modeling im tring to find out whats the best starter sets out there or if i should just buy things individually.This will be a family project at some point son is still to young but im into building trains for the hands on aspect and the detailing in the landscape trains ect..
So any advise about starting out in the hobbie would be great and what brand of trains i should go with or at least the differences between the brands .

thx to all and i look forward to building my rr empire.

pick:thumbsup:

·
Registered
2,951 Posts
i would say instead of a kit, get some cheap track bundle from ebay, one good entry level locomotive (athearn BB for example), some cars and a better power-pack. before ebay it would be a good idea to check your local craiglist as well.

i have some basic HO stuff laying around if you want (as we decided to go N scale for nephews layout instead)

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
what type of track should i be looking for is some brands better than other like i said all this is new so bear with me im still learning i just wanna go about this the best way thx again

·
Registered
2,951 Posts
most widespread material is by atlas. you want Nickel silver stuff to minimize oxidation related problems (will cost bit more). some members preffer material with integrated roadbed, but i'm at loss as to why. integrated roadbed is good if one plays trains on carpet but it is more expensive and generaly less flexible how it can be used

you also might want to read through official NMRA beginners guide
http://www.nmra.org/beginner/