Model Train Forum banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
37 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I bought this as the most money I have ever spent on an engine , we recently moved so it sat in the box for 2 years. I recently set double oval up in the basement hooked it up to my NEC power cab and it ran great. For a while. On one of its loops it had trouble negotiating a switch , the engine went forward and the but coal car tried to turn. This shorted the track and everything stopped. After that I could not get the engine to run again. I have tried following the NEC manual and reprograming it, to no avail. I found a function to reset the Decoder to factory settings that didi not work either. Occassionaly during my attempts i get a code that says cannot read CV. Though I have been modeling for years i am fairly new to DCC and also new to the NEC power cab. Right no the engine is a brick. I cannot get it to do anything.

Any help?

If I am in the wrong group please redirect ne.
Many Thanks; Happy 4th.

·
Registered
382 Posts
This may help but I do not know. Worth a try tho.
The Paragon 3 sound system can be reset to the factory default by setting CV8 to a value of 8. If this cannot be accomplished, the system can be manually reset by holding down the tiny reset button on the sound circuit board while turning on track power.
I know you said you reset using the nce system but sometimes the manual way is better. this is from page 11 from:
https://www.broadway-limited.com/support/manuals/Paragon 3 Steam manual.pdf

·
Registered
37 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I will try changing CV 8 and see what happens. Is the sound circuit board in the coal car. I have nor opened it yet.
Thanks

·
Registered
382 Posts
That I do not know. I do not own one but I knew where the manuals are. If you check here they give a lot of info on them.