Model Train Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
136 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Has anyone out there installed/used/witnessed Broadway's Rolling Thunder sound system with subwoofer?

Is it trouble free, and as good as they make it seem?

And how about their thunder and lightning kit, anyone seen it live?

·
Registered
2,300 Posts
I'm just going to throw out this comment, and I hope you won't mind that I can't objectively, or subjectively, and directly answer your question because I have no first-hand experience:

I have yet to see a developed thread conversation on any of the six or seven fora I visit daily/weekly about the Rolling Thunder and how 'neat' or 'useful' it has been for the operator's enjoyment experience. I suspect the reason is that, while BLI may have sold a car-load of them, the experience was not what people imagined once they had it up and running on their layouts.

The problem is one of scale. Water doesn't scale. Smoke doesn't scale. And sound sure as aitch don't scale in our tiny layout spaces, even if we have them in a large bedroom. What is ten feet away has sounds that come from only ten feet away. It competes much too aggressively with the sounds that are coming from nearer your belly, just down below you. Rolling Thunder presents a whole nuther dimension to this by wanting to generate a widely broadcast and intrusive low frequency sound (these travel the furthest), but still in that small confined space.

I would put some money on a bet that says it gets used about as often as full factory default sound volumes in our locomotives. Meaning, almost never.

·
Registered
136 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Mesenteria, thanks. Question, you say almost never to full factory default sound volumes, does this mean default is too loud so you adjust the volume down to your liking typically?

G

·