Model Train Forum banner

Brushable Weathering Paints

1K views 11 replies 5 participants last post by  RJC 
#1 ·
I am a first-timer in weathering my S gauge rolling stock. I do not want to attempt air-brushing yet so I would like to know if brushable weathering paint is worth it and, if so, what would you recommend?

#4 ·
An airbrush will give the best results. I understand you do not want to use an airbrush. Just saying.
I have had an airbrush for 15 years. Never used it. I did not want to do the clean up I guess.
Use acrylic paint and then it is water clean up. You might try chalks. If you do not like I believe you
can just wipe off. When you get it the way you like, something clear needs to be sprayed over it.
Otherwise you will rub it off with use. Don't over do the weathering. Less is more.

#6 ·
After a couple of years of just using grey chalk powders for my weathering, I decided to step it up and try other techniques. So I studied the topic quite a bit. My strong recommendation is to start with PanPastels. These can give you great results without a great deal of work. If you want to move on and try other methods great, but many modelers are happy to do all of their weathering with PanPastels. These two kits, a supply of eye shadow applicators, and a flat clear coat such as my favorite Tamiya TS-80 (expensive but the best) and you are ready to go:
  • Greys, Grime & Soot Kit - 30702
  • Rust & Earth Kit - 30701
Here are some useful links:
Two other really easy and quick details to add once you have applied the PanPastels are AK Interactive's Crusted Rust Deposits (just dab on small rust spots with a fine brush such as a 20/0 or thin it with mineral spirits and do light streaks with a flat brush) and MIG's oil & grease stain mixture (after you have finished everything including your clear coat, just dab on with a 20/0 brush in common grease areas like steps, journal boxes, cylinder& pipe connections, hatches, door hinges, etc.).