Model Train Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
First let me state that while I'm not very good at it, I wholeheartedly believe in the saying, "Search is your friend". With that in mind, I did search around for some answers before posting this alas I came up short.

As I said in my intro, I'm looking at re-building the collection that I had when I was a little one. My Grandfather bought it for my Dad, I played with it alot when I was young, but unfortunately my parents sold it to a dealer when they retired and moved into a smaller house. :(

I went out and got one of those Chicago and Northwestern sets from Menards when they went on sale this year. Very basic 40x60 loop with an engine and a few passenger cars. But that Fastrack stuff I don't seem to care for.

As I shop fleabay and other places, what should I focus my efforts on acquiring? Build up a large assortment of track pieces? Keep an eye out to start collecting cars and a couple engines? Working accessories such as log loaders and coal loaders? Or lighting and such?

Seems the obvious answer is everything I listed after the track pieces is useless without the track, but you're the experts!

Thanks for your help, I really hope I'm not the 400th person to have asked this!

·
Yard Master & Research
10,693 Posts
Fleabay?