Model Train Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
60 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello all,

I posted a different, but similar post below in the beginners part of the forum, but I think I may get more assistance here.

Command confusion

In short I’m new to the digital controller scene. I’m not sure how it works and what I need for it.

If I am running track A and track B with train A on track A and train B on track B, I should be able to just use a ZW transformer, correct? Now, if I wanted to run trains A & B both on just track A, this is where I would need a Legacy controller system, right?

If I wanted to use the ZW to control track A & B, but run both tracks via command, do I need to buy two Legacy control sets? (One for each separate track). Or, can one Legacy control set run both tracks A & B? This is where I am confused and cannot find answers online with Lionel.

More info is in my first link that would explain more but I didn’t want to write it all out again.

I’m deciding between the ZW-C and the ZW-L right now, just to run the two separate tracks from one location. If it is easier to do that with one Legacy controller set then I will consider it. But if I need to buy that transformer and two Legacy controller sets (one for each track), then that is too rich for my blood. I’d rather just buy the ZW and use it to run both tracks normally.

By the way, both of my current train sets are “normal” (conventional?) sets. No LionChief, LC+, Legacy or Bluetooth. I don’t know if that has any difference regarding the above setup.

Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks,
Mat

·
Admin
44,009 Posts