Model Train Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am kinda new to trains .what do i use to clean track ? i have alot of old track i need to clean up . also what kind of cleaning solvent is suggested to clean my train motor parts . and finally i want to work on my own trains can anyone suggest a good lionel train maintenance and repair book .I bought a cd and it sucked !!!

thanx
just train crazy

·
Registered
1,175 Posts
The most common is an rubber eraser type that has metail particles in it. They should be availble at your hobby shop if you have one nearby. Other things can be used, but you must take care not to damage the rails needlessly. The rubber eraser type seems to work the best. I have't used solvents at all.

·
Registered
5,256 Posts
Whatever abrasive you use, make sure it is as fine as possible. The scratches will only serve to be a dirt catcher, all the worse as the scratches get coarser. Once clean, use a light oil like Wahl Hair Clipper oil to very lightly coat the track, especially when storing it.

·
Registered
96 Posts
cleaning 0-27 track

remember the tracks are hollow, heavy sanding could break thru. erasers are good. In Florida where moisture and corrosion are rampart, some people oil the tracks a little, then wipe them dry before running a train. If any in storage, oil them and leave the oil on till use.

·
Registered
4 Posts
I am kinda new to trains .what do i use to clean track ? i have alot of old track i need to clean up . also what kind of cleaning solvent is suggested to clean my train motor parts . and finally i want to work on my own trains can anyone suggest a good lionel train maintenance and repair book .I bought a cd and it sucked !!!

thanx
just train crazy
use rail zip, you can get it for about 10 bucks at a hobby shop

·
Registered
8 Posts
I used a scrubby pad. I got them in the $1 store. They seem to work fine and just make the top of the rails shiny again

·
Yard Master & Research