Model Train Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm a newbie so please bear with me. I've wanted a model train for years and just received my first one this Christmas - an O Scale FasTrack New York Central Flyer by Lionel. Unfortunately I'm having troubles straight out of the box and need some help. The train runs fine as long as the Coal Tinder car is not attached to the train. Once I connect it to the train the train will only run in reverse. I noticed that one of the copper bands that bridged the connection on the front set of wheels was slightly bent and therefore not touching the back rod so I fixed that but it still does not work. Any ideas? The train runs perfectly - as long as the coal tender car is not attached. :)

·
Yard Master & Research
10,635 Posts
Hello,
Check your sound button if you have one. Wires may be crossed.
Knowing what transformer you have might help.
Does "Run perfectly" cycle through the three settings?
Does the whistle work?
Is your whistle and e unit mechanical or electrical?
Check your switches on both.
For starters.
I don't own your set,but reviewing the manual, and the Lionel site always helps.
Remember when you go on/off, direction changes, forward, neutral, reverse.
It would make a great you tube video.

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks, T-Man. I'm at work at the moment but will check on the items you listed as soon as I get home. I can't remember off the top of my head what transformer I have. The train cycles through forward, idle, reverse, idle, etc. as long as the tinder car is not attached. With the tinder car attached only reverse and idle (I think) work. It seems like the sounds work at times but at other times does not. These are located in the Tinder Car, correct? Not sure what an e unit is....sorry. Also, I notice an on/off switch on the bottom of the Tinder Car as well as a flat-head screw with a +/- directional stamp. What are these for?

·
Registered
5 Posts