Model Train Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
60 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey all,

I’m new to how this new stuff works for trains now. When I used my dad’s set in the 70s, you just attached a transformer and that’s how you made the train and accessories work.

Now that I have two “conventional” (?) train sets coming, along with some fastrack and “normal” (Tubular) O track (black ties) to set up some layouts, I’m trying to figure out how a “command” is supposed to work. I’m confused.

None of the train sets I purchased are special. Meaning no LionChief, no legacy, no Bluetooth, none of that. They are just “normal” train sets (like the ones in the 70s). I’m thinking of running two sets of train tracks and putting one train set on each track set. Basically what I call two layouts.

With that being said, can I use a Lionel command system to run both track setups at the same time? I was considering getting a ZW-C transformer to run the two tracks and the accessories for both tracks. (4 connections). Do I still need to buy this transformer if I want to use a command? Does the command setup replace the transformer or do I need it on top of the transformer?

Then I read that if you use the ZW-C to run trains normally (off and on, faster and slower) that it will break and that it won’t run “legacy” trains because of some chip problem. ??? So I’m looking into the ZW-L, but it is much more expensive. However, if I don’t need to get the transformer at all for the command, then that would be great.

Anyone that can help me decipher this, it would be appreciated. I don’t want to buy all the extra stuff if I don’t need it. There is also which type of Lionel command set to get. Should I get the legacy command (I think it is CAB2?) or get the CAB1L setup? Also, will either of those run both tracks at once or do I need to buy two command systems? (One for each track set?)

Again, I’m super confused. Any help would be appreciated.

Take care,
Mat

·
Registered