Model Train Forum banner
1 - 20 of 69 Posts

·
Registered
333 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So for the past couple of years I pretty much completed a layout. The layout was more for practice than anything serious or long term. I wanted to see just how terrible my scenery would be. I wasn't as worried about running trains so I had tight curves. I just had a small section left and probably would have had to buy more stuff for it to complete. Well life took a turn and I'm going to be out of work until probably after Thanksgiving due to some hernias. So I'm going to home bored as heck. So my thought was to tear down my old layout and start on a layout that can handle all my trains and won't look like just a bunch of track on a cpl pieces of plywood or foam.
Hence arises my problem and what I've cone here for help on. I have tried scarm and I've tried any rail. I am not good with them since I'm always a visual person and always just set track and go from there to get what I want in the end. But I am wanting to have thus build be modular might be moving in a cpl years so ill be putting in connectors and such. I just could use some help planning. If someone could help me on the planning software part you would be my hero considering if it would be up to me on that end it would never go from program to building ..
I have a pretty big space to work on. My plan is to use peco turnouts with Atlas flextrack. I also have a bunch of atlas turnouts but really do not want them near the mainlines.
I would like to be able to run my passenger and container cars so I'm thinking bear minimum 24" curves.
I would like to have my atlas turntable and roundhouse if possible.

So if someone coukd help let me know.

Thanks

·
Registered
2,774 Posts