Model Train Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
42 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi All,

This is my first time posting, so please forgive any newbie errors. I am a long-time HO hobbyist and my collection is mainly vintage, spanning primarily the 1960s-1980s, and as such my layout is DC. I know this topic probably comes up often, but I have a specific question on electrifying an Atlas frog making use of an Atlas #200 snap relay. Although I’d like to think I can follow the instructions, my specific application is slightly different than Figure 3 in the instructions:

Rather than having a continuously powered “mainline” as shown in the figure, both sections of track connected to the switch are isolated blocks. Given that, what is the proper way to wire into the snap relay, given that both blocks are isolated with an insolated coupler? Given that I am a visual guy, if you’re able to mark up the graphic with the proper wiring, that would be a huge help.

I’m, of course, doing this because some of my locomotives with a short wheel base will momentarily cutout going over the switches. I’ve lived with this for years, but hey, maybe it’s time to learn some new tricks (or at least some 30-40 year old tricks).:laugh:

Thanks,
JP

·
Registered
1,263 Posts
look at other post

Look at my reply in other post.

You can slap a Peco turnout down, switch it by hand, and not add any more wireing yo get running quickly

·
Registered
2,170 Posts
You need to connect the wires going to the "continuously power main" to continuously power feed somewhere else.

·
Registered
42 Posts
Discussion Starter #4 (Edited)
Look at my replay in other post.

You can slap a Peco turnout down, switch it by hand, and not add any more wireing yo get running quickly
Thanks, Dennis. I’ve heard good things about the Peco turnouts...so I can use the same three wire set-up as with the current Atlas switch?

·
Registered
42 Posts
Discussion Starter #5