Model Train Forum banner

1 - 20 of 60 Posts

·
Registered
92 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am a beginner who is trying to build my first DCC layout.

I have a simple oval of Atlas code 83 HO track and an NCE Power Cab which works fine. My first problem occurred when I added an Atlas code 83 #6 remote turnout (I also tried a #4 because it had a smaller frog).

My loco is a Broadway Limited SW-1500. It will not go through the plastic frog without sputtering or stalling at slow speeds. Since my plan is to have this engine stationed most of the time in a yard classifying trains, moving slowly through many turnouts, I need to learn how to fix this.

I am not married to the small amount of track I've purchased so far so I am open to all suggestions including going with another manufacture of turnouts.

Thanks

·
Registered
1,275 Posts
Atlas turnouts are not very good.

You might take a look at Peco Code 83 Streamline products.

I used them on my layout and they have proven to be very good.

If you don't mind dealing with the wiring for a powered frog you can use the ElectroFrog version which has metal frog and thus very little in the way of dead spots.

Frederick

·
Registered
92 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Atlas turnouts are not very good.

You might take a look at Peco Code 83 Streamline products.

I used them on my layout and they have proven to be very good.

If you don't mind dealing with the wiring for a powered frog you can use the ElectroFrog version which has metal frog and thus very little in the way of dead spots.

Frederick

Thanks for the info, Frederick. I don't know what is involved in wiring a powered frog but I'll find out! I gotta have the switcher crawling smoothly in the yard :)

Thanks again!

·
Registered
326 Posts
Second the Peco, I have both the Electrofrog, as well as the Insufrog, and my track mobile's, go through with no problems. I also have some Fast Tracks that I built, and these work just as well.

·
Registered
2,953 Posts