Model Train Forum banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
100 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
First of all I want to say thank you, again, to everyone that's helped me with questions so far. I'm brand new to digital controls and I feel like even though I've owned several kits as a kid I'm brand new to the hobby.

Doing research before buying anything led me to decide that I would be most interested in DCC instead of DC, and N Scale, and to start with a steam locomotive but definitely others later.

My Digitrax DCS 52 arrived a few days ago and I've been having fun with it.

YouTube has helped me figure out how to reprogram my locomotive from the default address of 03 to an address that matches the number on the side of the locomotive, 722.

I've also seen in some videos where they've changed the top speed of the locomotive from what the controller will allow by default. After some testing I see that with the controller at 20% that is a good "normal" speed and I don't think I want to drive it faster than 35% on the controller. So if I could adjust the speeds in the decoder to accept 100% as what is now 35% I'd be happy.

The manual seems to be written for people who already know how to do all this, and the instructional YouTube videos aren't much better. For example, the manual mentions setting a CV52 value without explaining what that is or how to do it.

Is there someone who can dumb it down for me and assume I've never been involved in programming a digital train controller before? :) There's a few other things I want to know how to program, but this will be a good start.

Thanks in advance if you can help!!!

·
Registered
825 Posts
I recommend that you look into the JMRI "Decoder Pro" app.
It's FREE and runs in JAVA on both Macs and PCs.

I've found it very useful for some programming tasks, particularly speed tables, functions, and assigning/re-assigning lighting.

One other thing: