Model Train Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
62 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm looking at bidding on an N scale Atlas locomotive on eBay. It is described as "used, but good condition". Looks fine in the photos. My only problem is that it is not DCC, but I'm thinking if I can grab it at a good price, I could convert to DCC with a decoder. This is where my question comes in, as I am totally new to DCC.

Are there any DCC decoders available that are "generic", or is each decoder made to fit a certain loco, or certain brand? I have looked at the Atlas site, but finding what I need, without having more info on the specific loco model, the site is not very helpful. Same with the NCE website. I have emailed to seller asking for the manufacturing date, if he has that info, but have yet to hear a reply. Would the mfg date be on the bottom of the loco? The photo showing the bottom is quite dark, but I can make out Made in China, and it looks like there may be a year on there as well but I cannot read it. Anyway, any help or advice on converting a DC loco to a DCC loco would be helpful. I'm trying to find a decoder before I get into a bidding war with someone. Thanks.

·
Registered
307 Posts
I can help with the decoder. You need to use one of these decoders on that Locomotive.

Digitrax DN163A4
TCS ASD4
NCE N12A2

Just google them and you should find them or search on ebay for them.

·
Registered
62 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thank you very much for that quick response bewhole.
So either of them would work, that's encouraging. Like I said, DCC is totally new to me. And the manufacturing date? Does that come into play at all? I ask because I don't really know when DCC became mainstream, so I am concerned about date, although I doubt this loco is that old.