Model Train Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello,
I am new to DCC, in fact i just started messing around with my N Scale stuff for the first time in 15 years and didn't know it existed until a few weeks ago. Being very intrigued by the possibilities i jumped into buy a MRC Prodigy Express set up. I have built a 3'x4' N Scale layout with two loops and one switch track connector. (will post pictures soon) I thought I wired correctly but the engine just shudders very slightly. I did buy a new engine "Atlas Master Line N 47681 EMD GP38-2" and installed a "Digitrax DN163A0 Plug-N-Play Decoder". Like I said I'm lost, i don't know where to begin trouble shooting.
Did I install the decoder wrong?
Is my wiring wrong?
Do I need more equipment ie. boosters or something?
Lost Lost Lost.
I heard this is the place the Pros dwell for mundane questions.
Any and all help would greatly be appreciated.

·
Registered
2,608 Posts
Um it could be a bad decoder install job or bad wiring. We won't know without more details and pictures. You should not need any boosters on a layout of that size. Boosters are only needed if more amps are needed for example in HO scale one amp will run about two to one train so if you wish to run more trains then that you would need a booster. If you are looseing power because the layout is so large you just need more feeder wires not more boosters. This is by far the most unknown thing about DCC and so many people never rrealize that and buy a lot more boosters then they will ever need because of it.

So without more pictures or descriptions that is as far as we can help.

·
Registered
2,062 Posts
First off welcome! Second did the layout run good with DC or did you even try it with DC? If you were DC were you set up in blocks or just one big layout?