Model Train Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
88 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have little knowledge of DCC and sound but I would like to add sound to my DCC equiped Bachman Baldwin 2.8.0 Consolidated Loco.
What economical sound chip would I need?

·
Premium Member
4,020 Posts
A SoundTraxx Tsunami sound decoder is a popular choice for that locomotive.
Different levels are generally priced from $65 to $85.
IMO, ESU Loksound is better quality (but a bit more expensive).

·
Registered
1,448 Posts
it seems something like toothpaste -- they all work, i mean the big brands -- but perhaps ESU has the programmable sound feature which could be nice. on the other hand you have to buy their programmer.

·
Registered
2,315 Posts
Do all of the DCC-on-board Bachmann locos have a socket to add a sound decoder? I have a couple smaller units and just assumed some day I would need to strip them down and replace the whole decoder.

·
Registered
674 Posts
Don't forget you'll have to install a speaker in the tender...Word has it this is a a very tough job...And the extra cost for it and the decoder I'd guess hovers around $75 (+-)...
You could cut your losses now and, if within your means, could buy another Connie DCC/Sound on board..and sell this one on line.. 🛤🌄🌵

·
Registered
3,453 Posts
Do all of the DCC-on-board Bachmann locos have a socket to add a sound decoder? I have a couple smaller units and just assumed some day I would need to strip them down and replace the whole decoder.
I have never seen a locomotive with two DCC sockets.

You remove the conventional DCC decoder and replace it with a sound decoder.

And yes, ESU is top of the line on both sides of the Atlantic. Infinately programmable with their hardware. The disadvantage for you is that it keeps all of your purchases ESU if you expect to program a decoder. The advantage for ESU is keeping it all in the family and more sales and profit.