Model Train Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
28 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello I am new to all the DCC control systems. I am looking at different DCC control systems. I have 2 Kato sd70 engines, one Broadway limited GE AC6000, and one Spectrum EMD SD45, all are DCC equip. My question I ask you is can you use one control system for the different brands? What system is the best and easiest to use? I am looking at running 2 trains and a rail yard off one line, is this possible? It is all confusing to me. I love the hobby, but I like anyone else I don't want to by a system and find out later that it is junk and can't handle what I want.:(
Please Help.
Thanks
John

·
Registered
17 Posts
HI,Don't buy something that cant be expanded later. A good one to start with would be the Digitrax Zephyr. The only drawback is that it is stationary rather than a walkaround throttle. I think one can be added. I personally like the Digitrax system because you can control 2 trains withiot constantly changing addresses ( they have 2 control knobs) You should be able to operate all the engines you have with all except some entry level systems. Welcome to the world of DCC....Jerry

·
Registered
43 Posts
Nce

I've been waiting and watching this new electronics world of trains to develop over the past 7 years, and talked with numerous persons about various DCC & sound systems.

My summation is if you are not really into the computer and electronics portion of the subject, go with NCE (North Coast Engineering). It appears to be the most user friendly, yet fully capable of the major brands. It works with all the other decoders out there.

They have a self contained starter set, the PowerCab priced about 155.00. And it can be utilized even when you upgrade to the powerful systems of theirs.

...my two cents worth

·
Registered
1,483 Posts
When I bought mine I looked at Prodigy, Lenz, NCE and DigiTrax.