Model Train Forum banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm planning a G Scale layout that could best be described as a fun and unique, specific purpose. Assuming that I can pull it all together, I'll share the full details and pictures during the build, and when it is actually installed and running.

I have plenty of experience with HO and G scale equipment, and I develop manufacturing control system software (SCADA/PLC) for a living. Now I want to do a fun DCC type of project. I've been reading up on hardware options, and before I dive in at the next level, get some opinions from the gang here.

Specific Use Case:
- A single G Scale Loco and 2 or 3 pieces of rolling stock, nothing more than that. Ever.
- A single linear rail section about 40 feet long. It will never be expanded. Ever.
- Need to somewhat accurately (+/- a few inches) stop the loco at "Stations" spaced 2 feet apart, so at least conceptually, there could be 20 track segments/blocks to define the stations.
- "Home" is at one end of the track. When the train is at home, give it a command to move to a particular station. It would accel, travel, decel and stop. A separate command would be issued to return home.
- The ability to support a physical and/or PC display based panel to show the status.

I have used Arduino and Raspberry Pi for other home projects. I can program in multiple languages (Basic, C, C++, Javascript, PHP, PLC ladder logic, fluent in Cisco IOS, etc.) so this is not a challenge on the configuration and programming side.

I've done research, but here are some "sanity check" questions. I'm also looking for "Here's how I did it" or "Don't do THAT!" feedback:

I can do *all* of the software control/automation using JMRI?
I can use an Arduino or Raspberry PI with a Digitrax PR4 or Locobuffer USB interface? Would a PC be better?
I can use a monitor attached to an RPI running JMRI to display the panel status?