Model Train Forum banner

1 - 20 of 36 Posts

·
Registered
53 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all,

Wondering if anyone has any input on the following.

A little background, I was in the Submarine Service for 20 years and am now retired and building model railroad's. Anyway, I'm just getting started, but the main idea I had was to build a model railroad around some kind of submarine scene. So, I've found lots of resin based resources on YouTube and was heading strongly in that direction.

However, then I did the math. First, there are no HO scale nuclear submarines available, and some quick math proves it'd be over 7 feet long if there were. So, I've been thinking about a 3D printer to assist in making my own model. However, even shortening the model length, I still need to simulate 100' of water, which is about 14" in HO scale. The hull of the submarine is just under 6", with the length of about 24". So, basically we're talking about a ****-ton of resin. I may be able to find a way to reduce that size, but then I wonder how effective the diorama would be - you know if 90% of the thing is the black hull of the submarine - that doesn't seem to me to look very good.

I could put the sub on the surface and only show the parts above the water line - which would save a tremendous amount of resin, but is kind of a bummer as I was hoping for a submerged submarine scene.

I'm going to try to do a mock-up with the construction paper and whatnot to try to get an idea of what I'm looking at. But it seems to be getting out of hand quickly. Anyway, just wondering if anyone has any ideas - it seems that HO scale is a bit unreasonable for something like a nuclear submarine.

·
Railroad Tycoon
23,876 Posts
Depending on how much HO you have now, how about N scale?
Most likely you still would have to fabricate the submarine.

·
Registered
1,412 Posts