Model Train Forum banner

1 - 20 of 33 Posts

·
Registered
3,125 Posts
As I said before, any foreign HO DC locomotive is compatible with US track, DCC, and accessories. The Br.218 already has the DCC sound decoder installed. NEM and NMRA standards are the same concerning supply power and DCC.

I don't know how to make that any clearer.

I've been modeling Germanic railroads for over two years now.

To answer your question, DCC can be used on AC or DC.

·
Registered
1,790 Posts
Let me try my own answer:

All decoders marketed after about 2005/6 have been deemed 'dual mode', meaning they'll sense and operate on either DC or AC current, with the latter being DCC (digital) current with the signal embedded. Note that this is true only for decoders on factory default settings. Second hand decoders, or second hand engines you purchase with unknown decoders, or with decoders having the previous owner's custom sound levels and motion characteristics programmed into the appropriate CVs, should be restored to factory defaults by performing a reset...FIRST THING YOU DO. Why? Because many of us remove that dual mode capability by entering a value into CV29, and if you don't know this and expect your decoder to sense your DC-only layout, you will get nothing out of your locomotive. No lights, no motion, no sounds.

So, about this Roco locomotive. It is possible it has no decoder, and somehow makes sound. That would make it a DC locomotive. I've never heard of such a thing, except for the short-lived BlueLine experiment by Broadway Limited Imports about 13 years ago. But, maybe Roco is doing something similar. I suspect, however, that it merely has a 'dual mode' decoder and that it comes ready to operate on either type of track current, DC or DCC.