Model Train Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all. I hope someone can help with an electrical problem. I need to know the wiring for a Lionel 254E. I’m pasting a pic of the pendulum control. I’m new to all this and I’m afraid I don’t know the correct terminology. This is my dads train set that he got when he was a boy. Dad is 81 now and seems to talk a lot about his child hood. My grand son is 4 so he’s just about the age my dad was when he got the train as a Christmas present. I though it would be nice to get the old set out and have it running around our Christmas tree for them both to see. Some of the wiring was brittle and cracked so I replaced it. I tagged the wires that I took off but not the ones I left as is. I got it back together and it wouldn’t run (ran before I fixed it) even got a puff of smoke out of it. I took the body back off and I saw a loose wire between the #1&2 terminals . It is one of the original wires that has a solid copper wire in it.

On the #1 terminal there is one wire that goes somewhere in the motor. #2 has 3wires, headlight, a wire that is grounded to the motor at the end where the hand reverse selector is, and another wire that comes from down in the motor area where the pendulum switch is.

·
Yard Master & Research
10,758 Posts
Quick

For a quick answer keep this in mind. The power from the center rail goes to a motor brush. Throught the spinning armature to the the other motor brush to the field coil around the armature to ground ( the outside rail). Does this makes sense?

Your light needs a center rail power to light so that #1 is powered from the center rail(Could be, let me think, it is). 3 and 5 are from the same motor brush 4 is the other . I bet that there are two contacts on the switch. The left connects 3,4 and the right connects 4,5 One is the reverse flow to the other.
Lets verify this before we continue.

My 249e may have this let me research a little Try Olsen for a sketch.