Model Train Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi All
I'm a beginner and plan to build a HO ratio layout. There are some questions:
1. When using the loco running on the layout, will there ever be electric shock ( or short-circuit) and damage to decode board or motor?
2. What is the cause of electric shock (if any) ?

Thanks

·
Registered
2,940 Posts
I think if you ran your train through a pan of water you might get a shock.
Other than that, if you keep your electronics from damage, there will not be any problem with electric shock.
As for decoder damage; the simple plug and play decoders will present no problems of self damage. If you attempt to solder in your decoders you could damage something by making wrong connections. Stick to the 8 pin or 21 MTC connection type decoders and you won't have a problem.

·
Registered
8,680 Posts
The track voltage and the equipment that powers it are
UL approved for the protection of child age groups. A DC track would
have a maximum of 10 or 12 volts (about the same as your
vehicle) and a DCC track would have around 14 volts.
Neither of these are harmful.

DCC loco decoders are actually not all that sensitive
to electrical anomalies such as short circuits on the
track. And you will have short circuits...it comes with
the hobby. A derailed loco will almost always result
in a short, but, Importantly, the DCC controller would sense the
short and shut down. A short seldom affects the decoder.

However, the warrantees of the major DCC decoders such as
Digitrax and NCE would protect you from losses. You can
return a damaged decoder, even if you were the cause
and the decoder will be replaced at no charge.

Don

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
As a beginner or inexperienced control, so maybe when loco running through the turn Y, N, X derailed due to not closing or opening properly. Does it harm a loco or controller?

·
Registered
2,940 Posts