Model Train Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi, I have a Bachmann HO Thomas' Henry the Green Engine, and last year it ran great and the kids loved it. This year I placed it on the track, and it only ran about 5' down the track and stopped. If I leave the power off for a minute or so, it will go 5 more feet and stop. If I only wait 10-15 seconds with power off, then it only goes about a foot down the track.

I have another engine that runs loops on the track endlessly without issue, so I'm pretty sure the problem is related to the Henry Engine. It's like new, and Ive only had it couple of years, running it at Christmas only. Not sure where to start on this as I am a complete newbie with Ho Model trains.

Thanks!
-John

·
Registered
1,585 Posts
This does not exactly fit your symptoms, but I would first turn the loco over and see if if there is any pet hair or other crud wrapped around the axles. I have to do this every year for my around-the-tree train. But we have dogs.

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks for the quick reply. That was my first though as well, but after looking closely at the bottom, I don't see any lint/hair around the axels/wheels. I haven't tried taking it apart yet, for a closer look at the motor, and I suspect that's next.

-John M

·
Registered
768 Posts
Check the electrical pickup ‘wipers’. These are small metal strips that transfer current from the drive wheels to wires that run to the motor.
Sometimes dust or lint gets between the wheels and the wipers. This will cause erratic running as you describe.

Look down behind the drive wheels, and use a small flat screwdriver or tweezer to clean out any ‘dust balls’ you may find.
You can use a Q-tip dipped in isopropyl alcohol to clean the wheels. You may be able to get it down into the wiper area but be careful not to bend them. They must make contact with the wheels.