Model Train Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
HI,

I'm new at this model train stuff but I am learning a lot by just plugging ahead. I have a small setup, HO scale on a 4x8 sheet. I have 2 loops with 2 crossover from one to the other loop. I'm looking to buy a couple of lefthanded turnouts, code 100 and I'm seeing something called #3, or #4, or #5. What does the #3,4,5 mean?

·
Registered
2,959 Posts
In America, the frog angle is specified by the frog number, which is the ratio of the length to the width.

In HO model railroading, a #4 is used for yards and sidings in some cases. On mainlines, #6 is usually the minimum used, and #8 or #10 is better if you have the space. On a small railroad such as yours, #6 is fine for crossovers without sacrificing a lot of real estate. It is what I used on smaller layouts, and still do even though my current layout is much larger now.

#4 turnouts are seldom used for high-speed mainlines as the angle is too severe to negotiate at speed. #6 is OK, but #8 would be better for high speed crossings.

Speed of course is relative. What is fast to you may no be fast to me and vise-versa. I like to run at a scale speed of between 30 and 50 MPH best as I can judge. There is a speed calculator available that I use occasionally to see if I'm close to what I think my trains are running.

https://mysite.du.edu/~jcalvert/railway/turnout.htm

Speed calculator:

http://www.stonysmith.com/railroad/speedcalc.asp

·
Registered
289 Posts