Model Train Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all, just joined up ! I have been running O gauge for many years. Lionel,MTH, Weaver etc.My 14 y.o. son loves it and it's been a great way to spend time together. Space has become an issue so we decided to switch to HO for our new layout . I want to be able to run 2 trains with my son operating one and myself operating the other on the same layout. Lionel took a while to get familiar with but once understood, we had a ball. I see MTH joined the HO fray now along with their DCS system.The first of my million questions is this; I want to use digital command control as I did with Lionel. What system is the simplest and compatable with any DCC equipped engine ? I want 2 controllers,tethered or wireless is fine. What's the consesus out there ? I looked in the specific DCC forum but figured I would ask here since I am new to HO. I look forward to learning from you folks ! Nothing better than running trains with your kids while they still like you !

·
Schizophrenic Engineer
3,076 Posts
Welcome to the MTF (Model Train Forum). I can't help with the DCC question. I am an old school model railroader. I have my lay out set up in blocks with multiple power pack so that I can run a few trains at the same time.There are others on here that will help answer your questions. I just wanted to welcome you here.

·
Premium Member
16,666 Posts
Belair,

Ditto on what Southern said. No DCC experience on my end ... rather, old-school HO and O. But just wanted to offer my own welcome ... sounds like fantastic for you and your son. Lucky him ... lucky you!

Do check out the DCC section of our forum. Perhaps more info there.

Regards,

TJ

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #4