Model Train Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
My son would like to start making model trains (HO scale) but I'm not really able to help him. I'm somewhat handy, but I have no experience in model trains, so I can't just teach him.

I'd like to get a book that is age-appropriate for him to get started in model railroading. We have some old magazines, but they are geared more towards teenagers and adults - very wordy, not a lot of pictures, etc.

A few internet searches turned up either more of the same or children's books about trains (we're well past that now!).

Can anyone on this forum point me to a good getting-started book that is age appropriate for a 1st-grader? Lots of pictures, step-by-step guides, and an emphasis on relatively simple and rewarding projects rather than advanced techniques would be great.

Thanks!
-Young Railroader's Dad

·
Registered
2,953 Posts
I don't think there is anything specifically aimed at that age group but I may be wrong. Maybe someone on here can suggest something. If you're running plain DC it's very straightforward. Its only when you get onto DCC it's starts getting complicated(and more interesting too). As his parent you should be able to support him. I'd suggest getting a starter set with everything you need for a complete but simple layout( even DCC) 6x4 is a popular size, unless you don't have room.

Its not specifically for kids bit you could get some ideas for simple layouts here: http://www.carendt.com/category/small-layout-scrapbook/

Even DCC is not rocket science so you should be able to understand it and guide him. If you want some more help please post again.

The Peco ho/oo plan book is very useful and takes you through all the basics https://www.amazon.co.uk/PECO-STP-OO-Setrack-Planbook-Fourth/dp/B00CRBMN0A
There is a rather lame video which gives you an idea

·
Registered
8,508 Posts
About the most likely model railroad
printed materials for your son may be the