Model Train Forum banner

1 - 20 of 32 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello everyone,

I am fairly new to the model train hobby and have several old Lifelike and Bachmann engines. I have taken them apart and tried to clean the wheels and the pickups. After this basic service, I am finding that they have little pulling power (understanding they are entry level locomotives--limited in their ability/function). Before investing in a more expensive engine such as an Atlas or Walthers, I was looking to improve these locomotives by replacing the traction tires. This may be a dumb question, but which of the wheels on a truck can tires be installed? You can see where the old tires are installed, but does it do any good to add tires to any of the other wheels as well? I am unfamiliar with the tire concept (as kids, we just put them on the tracks and they ran). Any advice is appreciated. Thanks, marcumg

·
Registered
416 Posts
I'm fairly new as well, but I've refurbished a few older locomotives. The traction tires only fit on the wheels designed for them. They have a little groove in them for the rubber band. You might try cleaning the old grease around the gears and journals on the motor and relube them. If the wheels are slipping, try new rubber, the old stuff may be too hard to give much traction. Otherwise you might add some weight to the locomotive.

What type of motors are in them? The pancake motors probably won't pull a ton of cars, but they should pull a few. And they can be silly fast

Sent from my Moto Z (2) using Tapatalk

·
Registered
8,203 Posts
Note....you can’t put traction tires on wheels that pick up power, because then they won’t pick up power.....

Also, traction tires sit in a groove in the wheel, so wheels without that groove can’t be used for traction tires....

If it were me, I’d bit the bullet and buy better locomotives, ones without traction tires.....you’d be much happier with the result....

·
Registered
3,391 Posts