Model Train Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
53 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello Everyone!

After building my Dad’s old Marx O-27 train into a layout last winter I am starting my own HO, DCC layout and I could use some help, advice, or whatever and I figured this would be a good place to come to.
(http://www.modeltrainforum.com/showthread.php?t=24531)

At this point, I haven’t even started planning a layout yet, I just bought a couple of Athearn DCC Loco’s and have set up a test track (some may even call it a lab) and have been playing around for the last few weeks.

This stuff is not at all foreign to me; I am an Electrical/Network Engineer in real life so 8-bit CV registers are right up my alley. For those of you who don’t know, IP addresses on the Internet (at least in Version 4 – even in Version 6, there’s just more of them) work the exact same way, (i. e. 10.0.0.1 or 192.168.0.1)

Anyway, here’s what I have:

Digitrax Zephyr Xtra Starter Set
PS3 Computer Interface
2 Athearn Genesis DCC Loco's (FP45 & GP50) and a Bachmann 2-8-0 (DCC but no sound)
A Computer (Windows XP) running JMRI and connected to the PS3 via USB cable and a Loconet cable between the PS3 and the Digitrax Cab

Generally, things are going well, but I'm having some intermittent issues. Right off the bat, I'm glad JMRI is free because if I paid for it I would be unhappy - it seems there are a lot of little nuances I would otherwise describe as bugs. In fact, all of my issues are JMRI related.

I haven't yet actually figured out how to use the Layout Editor or Panel Editor and the JMRI manuals and tutorials that I have found are not very good - the main tutorial is for the wrong software version of JMRI!

Ok, so forget about that, I've just been manually trying to pull up throttles and program decoders.