Model Train Forum banner

1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey, this is my first time posting and looking for some advice - identifying this electric motor.
A8F043DE-4179-4EBD-8787-D013B8882694.jpeg
CD991FBD-BEC7-4E25-8119-765D35077B52.jpeg
FD6860B9-AF32-4349-9992-E0FE837A9BC7.jpeg

I can’t seem to find examples of these brass brushes... maybe they are the springs? Motor arrived just as you see in the pictures. It runs well on track, but the I am sure the brass brushes are missing something - Sparking and likely rubbing the copper in “ the wrong way”. Looking forward to any advice you all can offer! - Joshua

Attachments

·
Railroad Tycoon
23,714 Posts
Hi, welcome to the site.
All you have is the motor?

I think it is early Lionel?
I am searching, so far all I found is what looks close to your brush setup.

Not exact but close, with the insulator and the brush arms.
Different but the same style, these fit locomotives with the raised center 'humpback' motors used in #150, 152, 153, 154

·
Railroad Tycoon
23,714 Posts
Your brush arms look toasted?

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #4 (Edited)
Excellent, and yes all I have is the motor... bought it with a lot of Marx motors, it was labeled “Ives”, That image you attached with the brass springs (brush holder) is what I was expecting to see - and confirming the mine are worn down...

And excuse me for being naive, but the #150, 2,3,4 refer to the Lionel locomotive, or the motor?

And just to explain, I have only recently picked up this hobby - diving head first into repairing prewar Marx locomotives.

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Also, this one has side rods? Or at least used to, do the humpback locos have side rods?

·
Railroad Tycoon
23,714 Posts
It could be Ives yet still looking around.
It has to be prewar (before 1942) might be from the 20's or 30's.
I found an old thread on the Humpback motor here, still looking.