Model Train Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm a beginner building my first DCC Track. I'm looking for recommendations on how to wire DCC.

·
Registered
8,680 Posts
It is as simple as running two wires from your DCC controller to
the track. It is generally recommended that a larger layout
have drops from the track every 6 feet or so to a bus (of 2 wires) from your
DCC controller. For the typical layout that is all that
is required. No blocks or panel switches needed.

Describe your layout and we can make more precise
suggestions.

A brief DCC primer:
A DCC system puts around 14 volts modified AC on the
track at all times. That current also carries the digital
signal from your controller. The DCC decoder on board
each loco has a specific digital address. It responds
to digital signals addressed to it by the controller. You
can run 2, 3 or more locos at the same time on the
same track with one Controller. Those digital electronics takes
the complications from your layout and makes it
easy to enjoy your trains without the need for
a lot of wires and switches.

Don

·
Registered
1,909 Posts
As usual, Don has done a good job. Wiring for DCC is considerably more simple than wiring for block assignment of DC power. Just two wires for each roughly 10' of track, 5' in either direction, but 6-8' in either direction from a single pair of 22 gauge feeders shouldn't present a problem.