Model Train Forum banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
44 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
To start with I must tell you I am a complete novice/newcomer, so please excuse my ignorance.
I have built a little fiddle yard shaped like an H with another vertical line 3 1/2 meters long, 350mm wide. My query is if power is supplied to just one of the 3.5m lengths do I have to wire uo all the ens to complete the power circut? Its non digital at present but I intend to go digital very soon

·
Registered
9,154 Posts
If you're asking if your track needs to be in a complete loop to work, or to join the loose ends to make a loop, the answer is no.

You wire each rail consistently (one color wire always goes to the left or right rail, the other color to the opposite rail). You can use as many feeders as you need to have good power to all the tracks. The electrical circuit is completed by electricity traveling from one rail up the locomotive's pickups, through the motor (load), and returning to the opposite rail.

You can safely dead-end all of your track / wiring.

·
Registered
44 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Another query, If I set my Fiddle yard up to run DCC, can I unplug DCC power pack and plug in an analogue power pack/control to run my non DCC locos.

·
Registered
1,637 Posts
Yes, that is possible. It won't work mixing them up, so don't do it. Always switch positively between the two power systems, or remove one prior to activating the other.

Digitax systems allow the use of Address "00" to operate DC locomotives, but it sounds like you're torturing the drive mechanism. It works, but it's a horrible experience.

·
Registered
44 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
Thanks mesentaria, Yep I was intending to switch off and unplug before plugging in DC, I'll have to use manual point changing as well.

·
Registered
8,360 Posts
The most simple and most safe way to use BOTH DCC and DC
on the same layout is to use a Double Pole Double Pole (DPDT)