Model Train Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
71 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So I've got my work area set up, but was wondering about my layout plan.....

Since this is my first time doing DCC or for that matter any layout.... am I insane for trying to do the following? I might consider using manual switches, since there will only be 2 or 3 loco's(3 is pushing it) running at any one time.

Besides that, where the heck to I get automatic reversing loop module(is that what they are called)?

I will be using code 83 flextrack.

·
Registered
8,612 Posts
Tho theoretically any brand DCC reverse loop controller should work, some guys
on the Forum have found bad interactions when the controller is a different
make from that of the Main DCC controller.

Something to keep in mind as you shop.

Don

·
Registered
5,597 Posts
I don't know if all reversing modules work with any brand DCC, I would get one the same brand as your DCC. I have a digitrax system and I got a digitrax reversing unit. All should be compatible that way.

·
Registered
71 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
I'm not a fan of reverse loops to begin with (you don't often seem them on the prototype and they eat up gobs of real estate), but your loop seems rather redundant. If you really must have one, why not have it go from the upper left of the inner loop down to the lower right of the same loop, sort of like the pic below....

http://www.digitrax.com/static/apps/tsd/images/tsw18.jpg

Steve S

Thanks, I have since changed the layout plan altogether, which eliminates the reverse loop. I have a decending helix leading which will lead the main line into a huge yard(4x8) housed under the main layout., I can do all the switching I need to accomplish the same thing.

·
Registered
71 Posts
Discussion Starter #7