Model Train Forum banner

1 - 20 of 40 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi
I newbie here and this is my first message :)
I plan to do a HO layout for playing with my son I’d say “playing table”. About year ago I’ve built my first layout (HO, 120x200cm, analog), see picture.

Also we always use Mega blocks or Lego constructor in the game on this table. I.e. we loading “building materials” in one point and transport it to another point where building something etc.

Our old layout is not more enough ;) and I want to create new one with DCC, bigger little bit and little bit complicated. According my humble experience better width of the table for us is about 1 meter because usually we use only periphery for building something but not center. So in the center looks like “dead zone”. Of course it should be as long as possible but I limited by 3 meters. And this table must be able to fold or disassemble.
For the layout I plan to use Atlas, 18” radius (according width of the table) and #4 turnouts. It will be covered by Woodland scenics green grass vinyl mat. Minimally we need follows:
- At least one closed route (oval or 8)
- Yard
- Containers terminal (we have container crane)
- A place for small passenger station
- Traffic lights (dwarfs)
- Turntable with engine house
Below you can see my draft (two section layout)… It is only draft and not final version
Any suggestions are welcome!

·
Registered
9,626 Posts
Bonjour and bienvenue! And now I'll switch to English, because while I speak (conversational) French rather well, I don't write it worth a damn.

That looks like a good start on your layout. I can't really tell the dimensions on your plan, but 3 meter width is going to be too much. Even at the low height for your son, you will only be able to reach in about a meter from each side (assuming you have access on all 4 sides). Since you appear to have used 18" curves there, I'm guessing the width is only about a meter, which will be fine.