Model Train Forum banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Just wondering who is modelling a Logging layout?? and what you have done to get those beautiful United Brass Shays and Climaxes converted to DCC... I must say not much room in there once taken apart..!!! Plus some pics of your layout. I'm new to model railroading ( started a layout in Sept 2019 with a Rivarossi ) but have always wanted to do Logging one.. I grew up on Vancouver Island and Logging was king here in the 30's and 40's... Heislers, Shays,( Willamettes) and Climaxes where abundant .. In fact the United "Hillcrest" shay is of one here.. There is a forest museum here that has a collection of Shay's and Climaxes so anytime i need some details I pay a visit,,... gota love those geared steam

·
Registered
2,316 Posts
I have plans to include a narrow-gauge logging route on my layout with a couple of 2-truck Shays, but unfortunately I don't have any equipment yet. The plans include some track winding along the mountain, with trees being transported to the mill in one town, then the rough-sawn lumber transported to another town for final processing where it can be shipped from a standard-gauge line. I've set myself up for some interesting timetables when the Shay is moving along one of the mainlines to bring loads to the mill.

·
Registered
9,890 Posts
I had (and will have again) a small logging operation on my layout, but it's only one industry and the layout isn't devoted to logging operations.

·
Registered
443 Posts
I have thought of a logging area on my layout but I haven’t come up with a good way of doing it yet

·
Registered
7 Posts