Model Train Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Ok so I went today to a hobby store about a 40 min drive from my house because I wanted to see it and I heard it was nice. Well I got there and it was pretty much all N scale loco's and freight but had a lot of HO and N for scenery. Any way me and the shop owner started talking and he was like trying to convince me that N scale locos/freight/scenery/track/decoders all together is cheaper than HO and I’m pretty sure that’s not true??? But also I told him why I picked HO, easier to work with and the locos move more realistically (well it seems that way to me) I like to make my trains take off very slow and move slow for the most part. But he said it’s the opposite N is more realistic?? I have no experience of N scale except running them once or twice at my local hobby shop and just what I’ve researched online and from word of mouth. Was this guy who was very nice I might add, just trying to get another customer or was he speaking the truth? Or is this just matter of personal opinion?????????????? :confused:

The guy was really cool though and did know alot about trains, he had some nice movable layouts in N scale

·
Registered
5,256 Posts
N scale's detail has improved immensely over the years but I'd be hard pressed to make a case for more detailed---AND less costly than HO. HO makes up a much larger share of the hobby and therefore can defray its production costs over a wider area than N scale, making them much cheaper to produce and sell. HO has a wider variety of older equipment that can be had for pennies on the dollar that N scale simply cannot compare to. It doesn't necessarily mean he's trying to mislead...he simply could be very opinionated about N scale.