Model Train Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
75 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm trying to plan out a simple, new N scale layout, my first real model RR work in 40 years. I want to keep it simple, but use good quality track, turnouts, controls, locos, etc.

I've see a few layouts done on a 24x80" hollow core door, no doubt for cost reasons, simplicity, light weight, etc. Are there any negatives to consider?

My other idea is 3/4" birch plywood on 1x4" frame. 24x96"

Are doors stable or do they warp with time?

·
Registered
644 Posts
I’ve been using doors for about 5 years now. Mine have not warped but I would not say they never will. Humidity plays a factor in this as well as how much weight is on them. This is usually negligible on most basic layouts.

The upside is that they are light and maneuverable. They make a good modular benchwork and don’t need to have a supporting frame under them. I just support mine in the corners. You could even put them on sawhorses.
The downside is the thickness. It’s a bit trickier running wiring through them compared to plywood. You also only have a narrow band of solid wood around the perimeter for fasteners.
I used them because I knew I’d be moving a couple times and had to adapt to different locations. Overall I think the traditional plywood/foam or just foam is probably better in the long run.

·
Registered
1,645 Posts
I don't know that there's anything inherently 'wrong' about using almost anything that is light, rigid, and easily transportable, especially in N Scale. Some HO people repurpose ping-pong tables.

1/2 inch six-ply plywood will suffice for a stand-alone layout, but it will wobble a wee bit. It's also still heavy, although the 3/4" you are talking about will be very heavy. Very.

You can get 1/4" cabinet grade and tack it to a shallow box with a couple of joists spaced about 16" apart and be assured of rigidity and integrity. Form the box frame out of 1X4's.