Model Train Forum banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello everyone.

I am just getting to the hobby with my 10-year-old son. Many years ago I purchased the Woodland scenics river pass HO scale 4X8 layout set. never got to building it so it's been sitting in my garage for many many years. Now I'm ready to build and I have a challenge with space for the 4 x 8 layout. I could go to N scale, sell the kit, but since I already made a purchase on the HO layout I would like to build that is possible. I also like the details on the HO scale compared to N. So here's my question.

Is it possible or are there any instructions on the web to build the woodland scenics set on two separate 4 x 4 pieces and put it away when not in use to utilize the space. I found many instructions on building and scale on hollow doors. I am a woodworker and Can build pretty much anything I need to build as a base, similar to a hollow door. So the question is if I build two 4 x 4 hollow bases, how can I make the layout in a way that I can separate the two pieces. I am sure somebody has already done something like this that has the same space challenge many do. Thanks for the advice.

·
Registered
9,176 Posts
There are several Woodland Scenics 4 X 8 layouts. It would be all
but impossible to make two pieces of some. It depends on
the track design as well as scenery.

Can you post a picture or diagram of what you have?

I made my room size layout using various size modules that I built
in the carport then assembled in the train room. That may be the
basis of what you would do it seems to me.

Don

·
Registered
10,950 Posts
I beg to differ from Don. It's not too hard. People do modular layouts all the time, and cart them from train show to train show.