Model Train Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am new to the hobby. Actually, I have only decided to be new to the hobby. I played with HO trains when I was a kid, but I am about to start in earnest. I have a very nice, large room in the loft of my garage to do whatever layout I may want.

I do not expect to be too heavy into diorama, but rather concentrate on layout, and operations.

What peice of advice can each of you offer that you consider to be the most important thing to do or remember as I enter the hobby?

I think I have decided on the following points:

HO Scale
DCC

My plan is to simply acquire equipment for a while, as I can on the cheap. Used, auctions, garage sales, craigslist, etc.

I don't think I care that much about lighting or sound in the DCC arena, but I am pretty vague on how all the interfaces work.

I work as a mechanical engineer as a vocation, and have a solid grasp of electric. The computer and electronic stuff I am not a solid on.

Recommend equipment, track, models, loco's something you learned the hard way. Whatever. I am a dry sponge.

Fire away.

Thanks in advance!

Jabba

·
Schizophrenic Engineer
3,076 Posts
Start simple, and plan for growth. Get one track running asap. That way you can watch the trains go by as you work on the rest.

·
Yard Master & Research
10,795 Posts
Welcome to MTF Jabba!