Model Train Forum banner

1 - 20 of 40 Posts

·
Registered
42 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have found and started playing with Xtrkcad and came up with a track plan which I think will work out. The dimensions of the layout will be 5.5' by 3.5'. The idea was to have something that I could store under my futon frame. The plan to have a simple loop on the ledge separating my kitchen from the living area is not going to work in HO. I was hoping that someone with more knowledge and experience than myself could look at my track plans and let me know if they have any concerns and/or ideas. I plan to have 2 loops with the inner loop doing an up and over in the middle of the layout. Since I am new to Xtrkcad my plans are not as fleshed out as I would like but it has helped to organize my thoughts.

I am aware that I need to have turns with radii of 8" or greater. My Bachmann Brill has been doing fine with the 8" turns while the Bachmann PCC has not.

I plan to visit the Baltimore Society of Model Engineers open house on Sunday and perhaps walk away with knowledge that would benefit my layout.

Thanks to all

·
Registered
2,608 Posts
A lot of the turn angles are not correct and in the lower left corner those curves are to close together and you will see many derailments there. Try using the free version of anyrail. It will alow 50 pieces of track which should be enough for your purposes. I find that drawing very confusing but also very colorful.

·
Registered
42 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
A lot of the turn angles are not correct and in the lower left corner those curves are to close together and you will see many derailments there. Try using the free version of anyrail. It will alow 50 pieces of track which should be enough for your purposes. I find that drawing very confusing but also very colorful.